Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College Special Board Proceedings May 11, 2015

The special meeting of the Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College Board was held on Monday, May 11, 2015, at 2 p.m., at the WITC-Administrative Office, Boardroom, located at 505 Pine Ridge Drive, Shell Lake, Wisconsin 54871.

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL/DETERMINATION OF QUORUM

Chairperson, Morrie Veilleux, called the special meeting to order at 2:03 p.m. with the following Board members present: James Beistle, Chris Fitzgerald, Brett Gerber, Lorraine C. Laberee, Troy Lambert, Dave Minor, Jean Serum, Morrie Veilleux, and Eileen Yeakley.

The following WITC employees were in attendance during the meeting: Bonny Copenhaver, Chaudette Miller, Marlys Miller, Kim Olson, Cher Vink, and John Will. Robert W. Mulcahy of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP and James R. Korom of von Briesen and Roper, s.c. were also present during this meeting. Student Patty Miller joined the meeting at 3:03 p.m.

OPEN MEETING

Kim Olson, Executive Assistant to the President and Board, read the following open-meeting statement: "The May 11, 2015, special meeting of the Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College Board, and all other meetings of this Board, are open to the public and in compliance with state statutes. Notice of the meeting was sent to the press on April 29, 2015, in an attempt to make the general public of Wisconsin aware of the time, place, and agenda of the meeting."

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Veilleux reserved the right to modify the order of the agenda to accommodate persons making presentations, live or via technology. James Beistle moved, seconded by Jean Serum, to approve the agenda. Upon a roll-call vote, all members voted yes; motion carried (9-0). Chair Veilleux verified that a quorum was established and that everyone had a copy of the agenda.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairperson, Morrie Veilleux, requested a motion for the Board to convene into executive session under the provisions of Wisconsin Statutes §19.85 (1)(a)(b)(c)(f)(g), and §118.22 for the purpose of considering a Private Conference before the Board Dealing with a Non-Renewal Proceeding Pursuant to Wisconsin Statute §118.22 and for Confidential Deliberations on Non-Renewal of Teacher Contract.

James Beistle moved, seconded by Chris Fitzgerald, to convene into executive session in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes §19.85(1)(a)(b)(c)(f)(g) and §118.22 for the purposes noted in the preceding paragraph. Chair Veilleux announced the motion. Upon a roll-call vote, all members voted yes; motion carried (9-0).

Chairperson, Morrie Veilleux, called the executive session to order at 2:06 p.m. with the following Board members present: James Beistle, Chris Fitzgerald, Brett Gerber, Lorraine C. Laberee, Troy Lambert, Dave Minor, Jean Serum, Morrie Veilleux, and Eileen Yeakley.

The following WITC employees were in attendance during Executive Session: Bonny Copenhaver, Chaudette Miller, Marlys Miller, Kim Olson, Cher Vink, and John Will. Robert W. Mulcahy of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP and James R. Korom of von Briesen and Roper, s.c. were also present during this meeting.

James Beistle moved, seconded by Eileen Yeakley, to adjourn the Executive Session and reconvene back into the special Board meeting. Upon a roll-call vote, all members voted yes; motion carried (9-0) and the executive session adjourned at 3:03 p.m.

OPEN SESSION RECONVENED

At 3:03 p.m., everyone was invited back into the meeting. Student, Patty Miller, also joined the meeting.

- 1. <u>To Take Action on Items Discussed in Executive Session</u> There was no action under this item.
- 2. <u>Consideration of Approval of Final Notice of Non-Renewal of Teacher Contract</u>
 Troy Lambert moved, seconded by Dave Minor, to provide a Final Notice of Non-Renewal of Teacher Contract to Marlys Miller. Upon a roll-call vote, all members voted yes; motion carried (9-0).

MEETING ADJOURNMENT

Troy Lambert moved, seconded by Chris Fitzgerald, to adjourn the meeting. Upon a unanimous vote, motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 3:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lorraine Laberee Board Secretary

ko